Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

A New Model Knife for me

New Model # 110 I'll call it the "Popeye"
    Today was R&D day. I've been wanting to come up with a new model and fresh to what I've been doing for the last 14 years. I've pretty much just did hunting knives before that I was making Bowies; this is what I came up with and it's passed all my stringent tests.
    It's 1/8th in 1095 60rc. Brine & Soap quench, tempered at 400 for two hours and passed all my tests. I got it to razor sharp, and cut enough leather to skin three deer and still shaved my arm. Pass the brass rod test. I was amazed how well it flexed being so hard. I made two a like I put the knife in my vise with about 2” sticking out and put the pipe wrench to it, I think it snapped at about 25-30 degrees, I don’t know how many foot pounds of torque it took but you’re not going to snap it by hand. The grain structure was beautiful inside, I’m happy with my process. When you sell with a life time warranty; you make sure you make a good product. We as knife makers owe it our customers that they are getting the best possible blade that can be produced from that particular steel. That’s one reason I don’t jump around to different steels or alloys. If I didn’t learn anything from my mentor Ed Fowler; I learned TEST, TEST, TEST!

You didn't have any problem with warping when you stuck it in the water/salt/soap?

I like that shape. What would somebody use a knife like that for?

Comment

Toothpick

Comment

Originally posted by SamHarper View Post
        You didn't have any problem with warping when you stuck it in the water/salt/soap?

I like that shape. What would somebody use a knife like that for?
        Sam; why would I do something that was going to make my blade warp, a lot of knife makers use that method.???