20D v. 30D v. 40D

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

20D v. 30D v. 40D

In my quest to buy a new camera, I've narrowed it down to Canon ("Buy what your friends shoot")... But I'm stuck again... I thought I'd post here to see other's opinion... Here's my argument w/ myeslf.

I would like the 40D b/c its the better of the 3 cameras and has many more features. However, as a beginner will I use enough of these features to justify having them? I can always get this one and "grow" into it, but the initial investment is higher.

The 20/30D isn't a bad camera by any means. There are a few people on here that shoot them, but most have upgraded to 40/5D. As a beginner, I think this camera may be a little easier to use, but will I quickly grow tired of it and want to upgrade to the 40D anyway? If I decide to go this route is the 30D that much better than the 20 to justify the cost increase? Also, if I go this route, I can probably make the move to purchase one sooner since the initial cost wont hurt as bad as the 40D... Then if I want to upgrade, I can do so later down the road (when the 40 is cheaper )

I was hoping I could get some of the 20D shooters to chime in and tell me their opinion on this camera... Or maybe even make me a really good deal on one that would make up my mind As a beginner, do you(yall) think I would be satisfied with this camera?

Also, I know this is only one little part of the whole picture (no pun intended), but for regular phography, does the 2.1 mp difference in the cameras make all that much difference?

Here are 2 websites I've been looking for comparisons.
    20D v. 30D
    30D v. 40D

I have a 30D that I am still trying to figure out all the features.....If you can afford it now I would go with 40D and grow into it.......

Comment