how good of a group before hunting?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

how good of a group before hunting?

I'm just getting into traditionaly archery. I recently purchased a 50# fuse intrepid and I have been shooting about 7-8 6 shot rounds daily at about 15 yards to practice. Currently I am grouping the 6 shots at about 5-8" consistently with some closer to 3". what kind of shot groupings do ya'll like to have before getting out and hunting? I am planning on trying to do some pig hunting with this bow after deer season is over, and would like some idea of what everyone elses preferred accuracy is.

There is no answer, but just peoples opinion or judgement.

At a minumum, I think you need to put at least 4 out of 5 in a regular paper plate, at the distance you want to shoot at. Remember I said that is the minimum, the thinking is that a paper plate is roughly the same size as the deer's kill zone.

If you can do that consistantly at 10 yards, set up and take only 10 yard or closer shots. If you can do it out to fifteen, then you take that shot if you feel good about the conditions.

There is more to a hunting shot than just the distance, it should also feel like a slam dunk you can't miss.

Buff said it the best I ever heard, he said on here one time on a thread about how far you take a shot......set up a 3-D target againt the grill of your truck, if you are willing to take that shot, then you can take it at a live animal.

Comment

Just about everything Chunk said is spot on! The only thing I would disagree with just a bit is the paper plate. A paper plate is too big for me. I want my group to be a bit smaller than that.

Bisch

Comment