Deer in East Texas

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Deer in East Texas

I wanted to ask yalls advice on small lease deer hunting... I have 20 acres in East Texas where I have been providing a mixture of soured corn, corn, and crushed beets and other prpducts steadily throughout the summer months as well as late spring last year..

I know there are deer in the area despite having mostly hogs on my trail cameras.. I wanted advice on how to go about bringing them onto my land both during bow and rifle season. Should I focus on baiting like usual? Or maybe play out pre rut and rut with calling them/scent? I realize it's very early and I haven't seen deer sign in a while.. I'm just trying to put together a decent strategy that would help.. this is my first time having a lease in East Texas during a complete deer season so any help would be appreciated.

First thing is to get rid of as many hogs as you can. I hunted a place last year that had no deer because of the amount of hogs. Good luck. If ya need help I'm not too far away

Comment

20 acres is not much land to try and keep them on. Your best bet is to find where they are passing through. I would check for rub lines and trails and concentrate on that. Remember that probable the neighbor on each side of you is feeding also . Im not saying dont feed but on that small of an area feed the right spot. If it is fenced you can often locate where they are crossing the fence and go from there.

Comment

Fence your feeders to help with hog issue.
        Then keep feeders going and try to hang them at least 10 ft off the ground for better distribution. The deer will fight over the center and limit the use.

My experience in east TXis that it takes a long time to get the bucks to get comfortable with a new feeder.

Lastly set your timers for end of year daylight hours so the pattern is in place. And don't let it run out of feed.

Comment