Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Freestone County (New to the area)

TBH'ers,

I am new to owning a deer lease and fell into a pretty good deal for 200 acres in Freestone County. Just looking for some advice/suggestions for what to start out with on the property.

Last week I set up (2) 300# corn feeders with 2 cameras to start getting an idea what the area is holding. We are bordered by much larger properties on pretty much all sides so I am hoping we have a good deer and hog population. More to come on that front.

Any suggestions on how many feeders or if I should go with planting a few food plots as well?? If food plots is the way to go does anyone have an idea of what grows well in that area? and How big the food plots really need to be??

Any thoughts are always appreciated.

I used to have a lease on Pyramid Ranch north of town. I always did well with just corn feeders and mineral blocks. There are some nice deer in Freestone , just not a huge quantity. There used to be a ton of pigs. Ive been off the lease since 2012. Wish I still had it.

Comment

I would put out 4 corn feeeders and 2-3 protein feeders. Try to keep them in the center of the property if possible. Keep them full year round. Keep travel inside the property to a minimum. No joy riding on atv's or utv's. Food plots are great if you have the capabilities. The bigger, the better. Try to keep them in the center of the property. I would not kill more than one buck per year off the place (including culls). Some years you probably won't kill a buck. Take does as needed in attempts to thin the herd.

Comment

Lot of pig and yotes and cottonmouths out there
        And that county is ar county if i remember

Comment

I would feed 3-4 corn feeders. Protein feeding would depend on what type of neighbors i thought i had and their feeding programs. If they arent feeding protein i would not either, unless the neighboring properties are not hunted

Comment