Moving To Montana

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Moving To Montana

I've been working as a contractor for the last 7 years, with a lot of those on the road. In April of 2016 I took a gig with Boeing in Helena, and fell in love with the area. The work and the people were great, but I missed home. Had an opportunity to come home after being up there a year. I took it and came home.

About 5 months in, Helena calls and asks if I would like to work from home for them. It seems they couldn't find anyone to take my place. Well, a chance to work from home was more than I could resist, so I went back to work for them. This time from home. Fast forward to February, the boss calls and asks me if I would like to go direct for them. It would mean having to move up there. The wife and I discussed it. She wasn't too sure at first as our youngest was in her last year of college and wasn't working. But the more we discussed it and got to looking at houses up there, she started coming around. Now I think she is more excited for the move than I am.

Well, the wheels on the Boeing bus turn, but they turn SLOW. They were finally given the green light in April to post the position. After the required interviews, I was made an offer. Money wise, it was kinda low. I countered and really didn't expect them to accept my offer. Came home from a lease trip and low and behold, they accepted my counter, in total. I in turn accepted the job offer and started the background checks.