Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

2019 blackland prairies thread, Ellis, Navarro, hill heck even north side freestone

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

2019 blackland prairies thread, Ellis, Navarro, hill heck even north side freestone

Another year in our area, figured I’d start a little earlier to catch more of the season prep, planting and planning. I’m still somewhat new to hunting this area since most of my experience is out west or in hill country.
    I purchased another 76ac this yr for a total of 108 and have already started planting food plots, pushing/shredding brush and making plans for hunting spots this fall.
    Let’s do a survey of who hunts in the area (nsew of what county) but obviously no exacts, how many acres you hunt, your preferred hunting style(feeders, trails, hand corn, box blinds, tripods), what feed or supplements you feed and maybe a pick of your setup.
    I want to be more successful this yr so hoping to learn from some of you pros from this area.

I’m in western Navarro, I’ve tried hand corn, feeders, rice bran, food plots, tripods, box blinds and still have not been able to get deer consistent enoughon my property to really hunt them. Most of my herd besides an couple really young bucks and a couple doe are very sporadic. I’ve been planting fall and spring food plots for two yrs. I add mineral licks, corn and some times rice bran. I tried a free choice protein feeder this last season that had a mix of corn, soybeans and rice bran pellets, results weren’t very good.

Hoping a third season will yield better results but right now the land is so lush they aren’t showing much at all and pigs have gotten pretty heavy.

Anyway hope last yr was good and next yr is better for everyone.

Up for the guys in my hood

Comment