Some wise old does can just sense your presense

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Ive been arrowing deer for 20 years but every once in awhile you run across a doe you just can’t get into bow range no matter what you do. Three doe we call “the sisters” show up at this feeder real regular. For the third time this season I watched them from my krivo as they amble across the pasture FROM UPWIND and stop just before jumping in the pen. Icame in from the opposite direction so they didn’t cross my path. They stand there for ten minutes perfectly still. When one starts to jump in the old mature one snorts - they don’t run but just amble off the way they came. She senses that something is up. Probably giving her too much credit but I’ve wondered if the pile of corn I throw out between the blind and the feeder tips her off something is different. Some does are just hard to kill with a bow. I’ve seen her do this 3 times this season

Old does are just as smart as old bucks..

Comment

I

Stop the hand corn or take your rifle😉

Comment

Old Nanny can be a PIA!

Comment

Originally posted by jds247 View Post
          Old does are just as smart as old bucks..
          Some of them are smarter lol. But, I really hate the old does. When a mature buck senses something isn’t right, he doesn’t make a big stink about it. He will just quietly turn around and walk back the way he came. Those old does can’t just do that, they have to make this big spectacle of it and attempt to warn every deer in the county. On my place, “does that blow are the first to go.”

Comment

Shoot her in the face with a 300 RUM! Stops the snorting every time

Comment

Those old does are as smart as old bucks

Comment

Funny

Originally posted by Regular7 View Post