Go Back   TexasBowhunter.com Community Discussion Forums > Topics > Traditional

Old 02-06-2018, 09:23 PM   #1
huntinfool
Pope & Young

Hunt In: SHNF, and anywhere you want to take me ;-)
Default Setting up an ILF bow.

So I'm new to traditional archery.
I recently purchased a Hoyt riser and Black Max II limbs. I'm trying to get the bow tuned up and ready to shoot.

Initially when I got the bow the limb bolts were turned out some.

Here you can see how far they were out.

Sent from my XT1650 using Tapatalk
huntinfool is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 02-06-2018, 09:25 PM   #2
huntinfool
Pope & Young

So I loosened up the bolts on the back of the riser and turned the limb bolts in.

They won't turn any more, but the limbs aren't touching the riser all the way.
Is this normal?

Old 02-06-2018, 09:27 PM   #3
huntinfool
Pope & Young

My brace height is just under 8.25 and the tiller is almost equal at 6.5 on the top and 6 5/8 on the bottom.

So, what do I do now?

Old 02-06-2018, 09:28 PM   #4
Dkincaid
Eight Point

Thatís not how they work if you shoot it like that it will break your limbs. You need to have play in them. I recommend doing a google search on ilf basics and looking at trad talk etc. I wouldnít mind typing it out but there are so much better resources available and itís a lot to type.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Dkincaid is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 02-06-2018, 09:30 PM   #5
Dkincaid
Eight Point

It appears as those have stops on them it might not bind the limbs but canít tell from pictures.

Old 02-06-2018, 09:30 PM   #6
huntinfool
Pope & Young

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dkincaid View Post
Thatís not how they work if you shoot it like that it will break your limbs. You need to have play in them. I recommend doing a google search on ilf basics and looking at trad talk etc. I wouldnít mind typing it out but there are so much better resources available and itís a lot to type.