Go Back   TexasBowhunter.com Community Discussion Forums > Topics > Around the Campfire

Old 04-25-2018, 06:20 PM   #1
curtintex
Pope & Young

Hunt In: Usually from a tree
Question Need a New Ford Dealership

I typically buy a few work trucks a year. Probably average about 8 per year. Some years more, some years less. Some are XL and some are Lariat. Some are F150 and some are F250...a few F350-F550 over the years. I've been a loyal customer to the same Ford store for many years. I don't shop price. I don't compare prices. I call and tell them what I want and I expect to get a fair price and I expect great service. I'm familiar and friendly with the sales manager, the service manager and the owner himself. I'm loyal.

Recently, my Ford store decided to expand their parking area. Well, I'm a contractor that does earthwork, utilities and concrete. I literally build parking lots everyday. They know this. Right up my alley, right? Except I don't get a phone call. I don't get a set of plans to look over. Nothing. I got a call from someone that works there that I should call and see if I could bid it. I went through the process only to learn that the job had been awarded BEFORE I even looked at it.

I work in a tough, cut-throat industry. I'm a tough competitor myself. I'm not afraid of competition because it keeps us sharp. However, I'm VERY loyal to my suppliers and vendors. I'm honest to a fault and I expect the same in return. They were under no obligation to let me do their project, but I'm under no obligation to buy all my trucks there either. It's simply time to part ways. I hope their local-yokel contractor turns out to be a good customer for them. I ain't bitter, but I am vengeful.

So, whattaya got? Recommend me a Ford house that wouldn't mind some new business. No fancy showroom places. No Planet Fords or Megaplex AutoTowns. I'm looking for good ole boys that want to sell trucks. For service reasons it needs to be within 100miles of Houston.