Reply
Go Back   TexasBowhunter.com Community Discussion Forums > Topics > D-I-Y Projects
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-14-2018, 08:37 PM   #1
diamonde40
Eight Point
 
diamonde40's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Luling, Texas
Hunt In: Harwood, Texas
Default Another Electric Wire Size Question

I know this has been discussed and asked many times but I am looking for a simple answer to my question if possible from our electrical experts:

At meter pole- 200 amp service
Wanted at shop- 200 amp service (minus the drop for distance)
At shop- 200 amp circuit breaker box
Distance from service pole to shop circuit breaker box-150 ft.
Direct buried or in conduit?
Copper or aluminum?
SIZE OF WIRE PLEASE?

Thank you for your help
diamonde40 is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 04-14-2018, 09:48 PM   #2
Mike D
Pope & Young
 
Mike D's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: North Texas
Hunt In: Haskell County, TX
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by diamonde40 View Post
I know this has been discussed and asked many times but I am looking for a simple answer to my question if possible from our electrical experts:



At meter pole- 200 amp service

Wanted at shop- 200 amp service (minus the drop for distance)

At shop- 200 amp circuit breaker box

Distance from service pole to shop circuit breaker box-150 ft.

Direct buried or in conduit?

Copper or aluminum?

SIZE OF WIRE PLEASE?



Thank you for your help


I always put underground wire in conduit, copper is my preference.

Based on those 2 criteria 3/0 copper would be the required size.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
Mike D is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 04-15-2018, 06:58 AM   #3
8mpg
Ten Point
 
8mpg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Keller
Default

Check out the voltage drop calculator. You can check your wire size:
https://www.southwire.com/support/vo...calculator.htm

Id use aluminum feeder wire, in conduit.

3/0 copper or #250 aluminum feeder
8mpg is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 04-15-2018, 11:22 AM   #4
double bogey
Ten Point
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Mesquite
Hunt In: where ever I can
Default

Someone in the classifieds was trying to move some 250 aluminum.
double bogey is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 04-15-2018, 06:50 PM   #5
diamonde40
Eight Point
 
diamonde40's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Luling, Texas
Hunt In: Harwood, Texas
Default I Checked It Out

Quote:
Originally Posted by double bogey View Post
Someone in the classifieds was trying to move some 250 aluminum.
Thanks for the heads up. Texastaxi has 3 pieces of 100 ft. and I need minimum 3 pieces of 150 ft. Thank you sir.
diamonde40 is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 04-16-2018, 08:31 AM   #6
double bogey
Ten Point
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Mesquite
Hunt In: where ever I can
Default

Dang, that's my luck too. always have to pay premium.
double bogey is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 04-17-2018, 02:30 PM   #7
ramrod
Six Point
 
ramrod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Bastrop, Tx.
Default

4/0 aluminum in conduit, and it is cheap!
ramrod is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 04-17-2018, 02:52 PM   #8
Mrsailfish
Four Point
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Default

You can use 4/0 4/0 2/0 alum and put in a 2 1/2 conduit. Nothing is wrong with large alum and will save you a lot of money over copper and you will never know the difference
Mrsailfish is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:02 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 1999-2012, TexasBowhunter.com