First Bow hunt @ Matt Family Orchard

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

First Bow hunt @ Matt Family Orchard

Well as you can tell I am new to all of this bow hunting stuff. But I fell in Love this last Thurs. (12-6-07). One of my friends and I went out on a hunt at Matt family orchard and we had a blast. I was the unlucky one but seeing how it is my first time to bow hunt it did not surprise me.
    As far as the hunt in the morning when we got there we saw 8 does feeding on the side of the road and then 2 others down in the field bedded down. I was put into Buzz and my friend was put into ultra. He saw a spike before shooting time and did not have enough light to make a good judgment and shot. Later that morning he saw a 5x3 it would have been a 9 pointer but he said that one of the tines was broke off. Unfortunately he could not get a shot off at it. But man it would have been nice to see that one in the ice chest.
    I did not see anything that morning in buzz I could see a glimpse of a deer or 2 but nothing would come out of the brush for me to fling an arrow at.
    Later that evening I stayed in buzz and he moved to martini. Bad move for him. I could hear them hogs behind me at ultra rooting up all kinds of stuff and same thing at buzz I could hear the hogs out in front but would not come out into the open for a shot.
    Over all even though we left with no animals in the ice chest we had a blast and the guy that runs the place is a character in a good way. I am going to go back and take the wife and the camera and....... Well you will see the hog or buck take it in the heart. (hopefully)

Fire&hunt,

When the bowhunting bug bites, it bites hard!

Did you hunt the morning only, or did you also hunt the late afternoon 'till dark?

Also, what time did you need to arrive to get set up in your spots?

Thanks!

Comment

I can tell it bites hard! I FREAKING LOVE IT!!!!