I need help! Long bow

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

I need help! Long bow

ok, this may sound dumb to some of you! I'm a rookie at the long bow thing. I bought a long bow from brownwood. I went to string it the other day and man that thing is hard to get the string up and on!! I'm I doing something wrong??? I thought I could put one end on the ground and bend it in with my knee?? Well I never got it! What am I doing wrong?

That is a really hard on the bow when you string it like that. You should try and find a longbow stringer. Longbows can be a little hard to string.

Comment

E-mail your address to me and I will send you one (free). I've got several and only use one. dkey111 at aol dot com.

Doug

Comment

I would never string a longbow or recurve with the around-the-knee technique, use a bow stringer, and keep your hand ready for it to fall off and not get a bow tip in your eye (experience speaking). A friend in the archery club made me one from parachute cord and leather from an old pair of girl's ice skates- works great.

Comment

Or you can step through the string. Put the top string loop over the top limb and put the bottom loop on the nock. Take your right leg and put it through the bow(between the bow and the string) with the string on the inside of your leg. The handle should be just above your knee on the outside/back of your leg. Put the bottom limb(close to the tip) on the front of your left ankle. then bend the bow. Its really easy and pretty safe. A lot of people dont reccommend this but it wont hurt a longbow in the least. Prolly should use a stringer for recurves though.

Comment

On a longbow I jut put the tip in the inside instep of my foot. grab the bow at the riser and pull and with my free hand push and slide the string on the bow.
            Recurve I use a stringer.

Comment

JB: