How to patch boat?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

How to patch boat?

I've had a 10' jon boat laying in my back yard for 3 yrs. It has some cracks along the bottom that need to be fixed. I had gotten some rods that are for aluminum but, I have no welding experience so, lets just say it wasn't working. I do have plenty of rods to finish the job just need some tips or guidance on how. Any useful help is appreciated. I need this as cheaply done as possible.

Watch YouTube videos, I heard it help if you hear up the aluminum on the boat a little bit. Also make sure there is no paint on the surrounding area. It will work but I wouldn't use it as a solution. Sinking boats are no fun, I would take it to a welder and have them weld the cracks. That way you don't even have to worry.

Comment

What type of welding are you doing on it? You say rods so I'm guessing stick? You REALLY need to use a mig machine spool gun alluminium wire and has to be EXTREMELY clean! If you wanna give it a go with a stick rod I think your suppose to run alluminium reverse polarity I think.

Comment

If you're not a welder, please don't even think about welding aluminum. Especially not a boat. I been welding for fourty years and can't weld aluminum.

Comment

Ductape

It would actually work.

Comment

Originally posted by Kurdawg View Post
            What type of welding are you doing on it? You say rods so I'm guessing stick? You REALLY need to use a mig machine spool gun alluminium wire and has to be EXTREMELY clean! If you wanna give it a go with a stick rod I think your suppose to run alluminium reverse polarity I think.
            I think he's talking about aluminum soldering rods.

Comment

I wouldn't try to weld it, it's too thin unless you really know what you are doing. JB Weld would be a better choice if you aren't a welder.

Comment

Fluxless brazing rods. You can do it yourself fairly easily.

Comment

Flexseal

Comment