Moped restore

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Moped restore

I have a 1979 Yamaha QT50 moped. I think they called them Yamahoppers. I bought from my grandfather in 1992/93. I rode for a year or two around campus at ACU. I just got it back from a friend's barn and I'd like to do a complete tear down and restoration.

I'm not a mechanic but have some mechanical skill and can figure stuff out. I also found a website that has a shop manual for it.

For those of you who do this with cars or motorcycles, is there an order to tearing it down? Should I bag and label everything?
    Attached Files

Take lots of pictures and ziplock and label anything you take apart. I also use blue painters tape to label each bolt on anything that has different length bolts so that I get them back in the right spot.
    In addition to that I would spray down any and all bolts/screws with a good penetrating spray to make it go easier.. do this any time you can even if it will be be several days before you will get back to messing with it.
    Good luck!

Comment

Thanks. I got the penetrating spray going already.

Comment

Had a ole 79 QT50 myself, back in college. Pretty fun little rig. Lots of good info out there on the internet about them.

Rode it 11 miles out to the strip in lubbock one time. Pretty excellent journey. Topped out right around 31 mph per Garmin GPS.

Comment

Originally posted by ttubudd View Post
          Had a ole 79 QT50 myself, back in college. Pretty fun little rig. Lots of good info out there on the internet about them.

Rode it 11 miles out to the strip in lubbock one time. Pretty excellent journey. Topped out right around 31 mph per Garmin GPS.

Oh...The Strip. The good ol' days... I miss Lubbock.

Comment