Working For your Father

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Working For your Father

Here is my current situation, I have been working for City Government for about nine years now in the construction side. I have steadily made my way to the (somewhat) top of the food chain. Prior to this I was with a private contractor as a Field Engineer / Superintendent.

Well a few days ago my dad emails me a job posting for a management level position for the company he works for. This position would report directly to him. I asked him if he was hinting at something and his response was " Just letting you know that I posted this"

What are your thoughts on working for your father? Or if there are any fathers out there whose kids work for them, is there anything you would recommend?

all I can say is..."May the Schwartz be with you", lol

Comment

Originally posted by segbert View Post
      Here is my current situation, I have been working for City Government for about nine years now in the construction side. I have steadily made my way to the (somewhat) top of the food chain. Prior to this I was with a private contractor as a Field Engineer / Superintendent.

Well a few days ago my dad emails me a job posting for a management level position for the company he works for. This position would report directly to him. I asked him if he was hinting at something and his response was " Just letting you know that I posted this"

What are your thoughts on working for your father? Or if there are any fathers out there whose kids work for them, is there anything you would recommend?
      I'm assuming he checked company policy? Most companies I've worked for had a policy against having family supervise family. equal positions or different departments were fine, but direct supervision was prohibited

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G890A using Tapatalk

Comment

My opinion is: