Reply
Go Back   TexasBowhunter.com Community Discussion Forums > Topics > Around the Campfire
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-27-2019, 10:42 PM   #1
CastAndBlast
Pope & Young
 
CastAndBlast's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: The Woodlands, TX
Hunt In: Texas
Default Covert - No pics suddenly

Out of 5 cameras, 3 are not sending pics now. Each one stopped sending pics on a different date. All 3 are on solar panels (90-100% battery) and have 60%+ service.

In the past 3-4 weeks I have had cameras stop sending pics all of the sudden. From 20-25 pics a day to nothing. I canít request pics either. One was before the app update, the other 2 are after the app up date.

The last time this happened on a camera, I was at the property. I removed the SIM card and replaced. The camera worked for a couple of weeks. Then all of the sudden, nothing.

Anyone else having any similar issues? I have e-mailed covert twice about another issue with no response. I guess I will be making a phone call soon.
CastAndBlast is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 08-27-2019, 10:44 PM   #2
150class
Pope & Young
 
150class's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: The Woodlands
Hunt In: Uvalde, Boerne
Default

That sucks.
I’m leaning towards firmware updates for all 3 if I had to guess
150class is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 08-27-2019, 10:49 PM   #3
HoustonHunter
Pope & Young
 
HoustonHunter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Conroe, TX
Hunt In: Houston/Angelina/Trinity Counties
Default

Yes. Mine stopped about a week ago. I’ll have to go get it before I call covert as they require me to have it in front of me to diagnose it.
HoustonHunter is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 08-28-2019, 10:14 AM   #4
Texastaxi
Pope & Young
 
Texastaxi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: West of Houston
Hunt In: now accepting invitations!
Default

You've got too much "play" money.
Just get your @$$ out there and hunt, like all the poor folks do!
Texastaxi is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 08-28-2019, 10:36 AM   #5
Stolle
Pope & Young
 
Stolle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Spring, TX
Hunt In: Sutton County
Default

Mine went from 30-40 at each feeding time to 6-10. Boy did they screw up a good thing.
Stolle is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 08-28-2019, 10:37 AM   #6
Smart
Pope & Young
 
Smart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Denton, TX
Hunt In: Tom Green County
Default Covert - No pics suddenly

Donít email Covert... chat with them. Much quicker and faster.

Just a heads up for everybody. Your battery life and signal are not in real-time. They are updated with every new pic received. So your readings are whatever they were when your last pic was sent.

Not sure what your problem is specifically. I have had cameras not working before only to find out my signal fluctuated a lot. Like 60% down to zero due to my location. But they came back. Hopefully yours do too.


Right now they are working great. 100-120 pics each a day at my two deer lease cameras. Woke up to 38 pig pics this morning at my local pig place.

Last edited by Smart; 08-28-2019 at 10:40 AM.
Smart is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 08-28-2019, 10:42 AM   #7
Sika
Pope & Young
 
Sika's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Llano
Hunt In: Hill Country and East TX
Default

Yes, we have 6 code blacks and they all do exactly as you describe. At any given time, 2 of them aren’t working. There’s a reset you can do that usually gets them taking pics again. Sometimes it fixes the issue for good and sometimes it’ll just fix it for a couple weeks.

For the code blacks, you can reset the cam by 1. Format card 2. Go to upload settings, select yes.

If it requires a reset, just updating the firmware won’t fix it. In fact it might not let you update the firmware at all.

I will say their customer service is pretty good if you call them. But you have to have the camera in front of you. I just mailed one to them yesterday because I’ve had to call CS on it several times on it.

Last edited by Sika; 08-28-2019 at 10:47 AM.
Sika is online now   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 08-28-2019, 10:44 AM   #8
alack392
Spike
 
alack392's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Default

Mine did the same thing, 3 out of the 5 I have quit working. I think it has to do with signal. Something with the update changed, because I went from having 200 pics/day to 2. Covert sent me 2018 antennas for my 2019 cameras. The 2018’s are working fine for me, the 2019’s will be in my other hand at the exact location and won’t send a pic. I’m hoping there is a firmware update or something to help solve the issue.
alack392 is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 08-28-2019, 10:45 AM   #9
TheHammer
Ten Point
 
TheHammer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Carthage, TX
Hunt In: Coke Co, Panola Co
Default

Mine is working fine this morning.
TheHammer is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 08-28-2019, 10:55 AM   #10
yotethumper
Ten Point
 
yotethumper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Houston
Hunt In: Colorado County
Default

I have three, one stopped sending pics over the weekend. All three have the recent firmware update and good batteries. All have good signal as well. Not sure what is going on.
yotethumper is online now   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 08-28-2019, 11:41 AM   #11
Dusty Britches
Pope & Young
 
Dusty Britches's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Cameron & College Station
Default

When that happened to me, I discovered my SD card was full. And I thought I had been deleting the pics.
Dusty Britches is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 08-28-2019, 11:46 AM   #12
muddyz
Six Point
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: McKinney
Hunt In: Seymour
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dusty Britches View Post
When that happened to me, I discovered my SD card was full. And I thought I had been deleting the pics.
Deleting pics via the app does not delete them from the SD card. The only thing you can do is changer your Overwrite setting to yes.
muddyz is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 08-28-2019, 12:10 PM   #13
Shane
Pope & Young
 
Shane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Abilene, TX
Hunt In: Mismatched camo
Default

Do the firmware updates hit the cameras automatically, or is that something you have to do manually when you have the camera in front of you?
Shane is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 08-28-2019, 12:12 PM   #14
Passthrough
Pope & Young
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shane View Post
Do the firmware updates hit the cameras automatically, or is that something you have to do manually when you have the camera in front of you?
Manually on the camera
Passthrough is online now   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 08-28-2019, 12:14 PM   #15
Bayouboy
Pope & Young
 
Bayouboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: League City
Hunt In: East Texas
Default

Mine did that last week. I went into the woods yesterday turned it off then back on and it is working fine now.
Bayouboy is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 08-28-2019, 12:16 PM   #16
Smart
Pope & Young
 
Smart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Denton, TX
Hunt In: Tom Green County
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shane View Post
Do the firmware updates hit the cameras automatically, or is that something you have to do manually when you have the camera in front of you?



Unless something has changed you have to do firmware updates with the camera in front of you in a good signal area. Covert does not send out FW updates for the camera nor can you do it via the ap.
Smart is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 08-28-2019, 12:25 PM   #17
Shane
Pope & Young
 
Shane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Abilene, TX
Hunt In: Mismatched camo
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Smart View Post
Unless something has changed you have to do firmware updates with the camera in front of you in a good signal area. Covert does not send out FW updates for the camera nor can you do it via the ap.
That's what I thought. I haven't done it since I put my camera out. App shows my current firmware version is V10017A4. Is that the latest?
Shane is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 08-28-2019, 12:29 PM   #18
Smart
Pope & Young
 
Smart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Denton, TX
Hunt In: Tom Green County
Default Covert - No pics suddenly

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shane View Post
That's what I thought. I haven't done it since I put my camera out. App shows my current firmware version is V10017A4. Is that the latest?





That is what my LTEs show. But I havenít touched then since mid July.
Smart is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:36 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 1999-2012, TexasBowhunter.com