Career Change/ Firefighter

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Career Change/ Firefighter

I have been working in the aviation field for the last 5 years and im ready for a career change and become a firefighter. I began my school for this 6 years ago but never finished, I already have my EMT-B i just have to do some CE and retest to get it current.
    Any tips from anyone that has done this before?
    I am 25 right now so i have enough time to get hired before im to old.
    I plan on starting fire academy this summer and finish my fire science degree in 2021

Originally posted by RW2016 View Post
    I have been working in the aviation field for the last 5 years and im ready for a career change and become a firefighter. I began my school for this 6 years ago but never finished, I already have my EMT-B i just have to do some CE and retest to get it current.

Any tips from anyone that has done this before?

I am 25 right now so i have enough time to get hired before im to old.

I plan on starting fire academy this summer and finish my fire science degree in 2021
    Where do you live?

Have you gone to fire school?

In what geographical area do you want to work in?
    -find out the requirements for these departments and eet them.
    -contact these departments and see when they are hiring.

Let me know if you have any specific questions. I just switched my career, i got my conditional offer and will be starting fire school the first week of April.

Sent from my SM-G960U using Tapatalk

Comment

Im in the dfw area, I havent gone to fire school yet, ill be starting this summer after I get my EMT current

Comment

Originally posted by RW2016 View Post
        Im in the dfw area, I havent gone to fire school yet, ill be starting this summer after I get my EMT current