Help Me Get Started Welding

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Help Me Get Started Welding

I'm wanting to learn to weld. Any advice on where to start in terms of equipment (I've heard I should look into a wire-feed unit).

My ultimate goal would be to tackle a task such as this feeder build (http://discussions.texasbowhunter.co...ad.php?t=87462)
    • What do I need to get started (complete newbie here so feel free to treat me like one)?
    • Where do you typically buy raw material and other supplies?
    • Any suggestion on good tutorial sites (in absence of some instructor-led training)

Thanks folks!

This youtube channel is a great resourcs https://www.youtube.com/user/weldingtipsandtricks

Comment

Tuned in I'm interested in getting started as well.

Comment

Honestly if you're wanting to start with a wire feed welder, id have to say start with flux core wire. It works in any welder, and. It'll let you get form down before you go any further. I personally prefer to use shielding gas on my larger welder but on my little 110 portable, it's flux core. You don't need a huge welder, the harbor freight ones aren't bad but personally I'm partial to my Lincoln. They make a good line of small 110 (house plug style) welders and I've done up to 1/4" plate with mine without a problem. I don't even know what they start at anymore. The one I have was ~$600 new, the ones that're ~$200-$300 are just as good.