Fly fishing out of a kayak.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Fly fishing out of a kayak.

Today was a new experience for me as I am new to kayak fishing and now I even made it more difficult with fly fishing. I sat the whole time and never attempted to stand. Did ok, lure presentation was a little sloppy and occasionally would hit my kayak. Seemed to be more of a sidearm cast to get under the limbs and next to the structure. Caught some bream and a few small bass, lots of learning to do.

Got some questions. My fly rod is 9ft, would I be better off with a 7ft? Or would I make contact with water on my back cast? My leader is 6 pound test Trilene, could I go to 4 pound test and still be fine for bass, using a clouser? Is there such a thing as a drift sock for a kayak? Thanks in advance.

I have not (yet) fly fished from my kayak but plan to put it in Lake Bob Sandlin and fish a cove, so I'm no help. If you are hitting the kayak with your fly (occasionally?) then I would not go with a shorter rod. I have been intending for over a year to install a folding handicap walker in front of my seat for a standup casting hand rail. Big Iron did this.

Comment

That is what I was wondering, I aint confident enough to stand and fly fish. There is an accessory rail mounted on my kayak that a stand up rail could be mounted to, I cant find out who makes it.

If you start fly fishing out of the kayak, it will ruin you. I have no desire to use anything else now.

Comment

You fishing it in rivers, creeks or ponds?

Comment

Guadalupe river

Comment

Kayaks have drift socks. I've never used one. I sit and fly fish too, youll get the hang of it. I just pile my line up between my legs. I can't stand up in my tarpon 140.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G530AZ using Tapatalk

Comment

Where did you find the drift socks?