Which Kestrel?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Which Kestrel?

The majority of my shooting has been service rifle and mostly shooting at 300 yds or less. Estimating wind with my eye has been relatively easy. But I want to get more into longer range maybe F class stuff and feel like a more exact wind data would be better.
    I use the Applied Ballistics app on my phone.

So my question is which kestrel? The basic 2500 seems like all I need. Wind speed, barometric pressure, humidity. The 5700 with the link and the internal ballistics data seems like over kill.

Th 5700 is really nice. It might be overkill if you plan to continue using your phone as well. It is really nice to have everything in one spot though. You can also enter changes to shot data after a range day to make for more accurate shot data later on.

Comment

tagged in for this one also

Comment

When I started shooting LR and competing in PRS, I was using the geoballistics app for my dope and purchased one of their weather meters. It’s worked great for me this past year, and would fill the need you have if you’re considering using a phone and weather meter. Plus, the app has some awesome features if you rifle hunt the same areas frequently. For the Weather Meter and app, you're into it for $100 or a little less.

Now, if you decide you want a single unit that gathers info and displays it, then the Kestrel 5700 with link is the one to get.

Comment

Originally posted by oneisnone View Post
          I use the same Ballistics ARC , watch the video :
          https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-T8xkto-Xws

edit: $62 on Amazon with FREE shipping
          https://www.amazon.com/Weatherflow-H...ballistics+ARC
          Last edited by Cajun Blake; 11-06-2018, 01:28 PM.

Comment

Originally posted by Cajun Blake View Post
            I use the same Ballistics ARC , watch the video :
            https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-T8xkto-Xws

edit: $62 on Amazon with FREE shipping