Career ideas?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Career ideas?

I’m 26, I have a wife and a 9 month old daughter, I have had a steady job for the last 5 years that pays pretty decent. But it doesn’t provide medical benefits and I fear I have come to a dead end on the pay scale. I am constantly questioning myself on what direction to go as far as a career change. I was pretty dead set on trying to get on with Union Pacific but recently have been second guessing that move as I’ve heard about some major layoffs in recent years. I have considered joining hpd, but that would require me to do some time in school which I’m not opposed to but my wife isn’t too crazy about that idea. I have also thought about the oil field but I know layoffs are a big possibility there too. What would y’all do if you were in my shoes? I have a high school diploma and went to welding school but honestly got tired of working in welding shops. The only welding I would still consider is tig and probably welding pipe. But I just feel like there’s other options out there. I have had the thought of joining the army reserves but don’t really know what all benefits I would gather from that either. Any info or opinions is appreciated. Thanks, Alex

Take a look at Austin Police Dept. If you get in early and stick it out, the benefits are awesome. Also, they get a TON of OT from events and churches in town.

I work with a company as a sub to DoD contracts, company pays all my insurance and max 401k.

I remember being in your shoes, except I was 28.
    Networking is the best!

What are you passionate about?

Comment

Wind Turbine Technician. Fastest growing job in Texas, they’re putting up sites everywhere. The company I work for is putting up 250 more near the site I’m at. With your background in welding that might help you get on as a site tech so you wouldn’t have to travel. There’s also schooling for a certificate that would help with hiring.

Comment