Reply
Go Back   TexasBowhunter.com Community Discussion Forums > Topics > D-I-Y Projects
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-22-2020, 10:12 PM   #1
Laner7
Eight Point
 
Laner7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Upton county
Default Electric wells

Recently doing away with one of the windmills on our place. Tired of having to replace leathers & checks.
I have 2 electric submersible pumps that I have installed else where on our ranch that have pressure tanks and the whole 9 yards.
My question is on this new one I am installing do I need a pressure tank? I know it will work without one, but flipping the breaker on & off will make the pump go out quicker. Could I just use a float on the tank and keep the pump on or use a cycle stop valve or something like that?

I also have a solar pump well that went out. Do any of yíall that have one or have experience with one have any recommendations on a certain brand?
Iíve used sunrotor & sun pump.. just wondering if there was something better.
Laner7 is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 10-22-2020, 10:52 PM   #2
Walker
Ten Point
 
Walker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: San Antonio
Default

The breaker is no different from a pressure switch. The both cut the juice to the pump. Why would the breaker make the pump go out any sooner?
Walker is online now   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 10-22-2020, 11:20 PM   #3
Laner7
Eight Point
 
Laner7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Upton county
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Walker View Post
The breaker is no different from a pressure switch. The both cut the juice to the pump. Why would the breaker make the pump go out any sooner?
I thought it would burn it up faster if you constantly flipped the breaker on and off. But now you mention that about the pressure switch that makes sense.
So if I ran it direct and left the breaker on will a float inside the holding tank cut the pump off? Or would I still need to install a pressure tank/switch or a cycle stop valve?
My other wells have the pressure tanks because it feeds water to our barn area so I’m not sure how or if I need all that for going to a tank for livestock. Sorry for the confusion.

Last edited by Laner7; 10-22-2020 at 11:55 PM.
Laner7 is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 10-23-2020, 08:24 AM   #4
Walker
Ten Point
 
Walker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: San Antonio
Default

Don't see why a float switch wouldn't work.
Walker is online now   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 10-23-2020, 05:12 PM   #5
kmitchl
Ten Point
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Montgomery, TX
Hunt In: Edwards Co
Default

The purpose of the pressure tank is to keep the pump from short cycling - turning on every time a spigot is opened and off when a spigot is closed. Short cycling will decrease the pump motor life. If you are pumping into an open tank the float switch will serve the same purpose as the pressure tank.
kmitchl is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 10-23-2020, 06:57 PM   #6
Pstraw
Ten Point
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: Henderson
Hunt In: Front yard or back yard
Default

The goal is to not have the pump coming on and off too often.
Pstraw is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 10-23-2020, 07:48 PM   #7
db@100
Ten Point
 
db@100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Default

If you just want the pump to run "when you want it to run", you can put it on a timer. I set up two wells in Colorado that way. The pump would fill a water trough. Any over flow went through a pipe down hill to a low spot for an elk wallow. Worked great.
db@100 is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 10-24-2020, 02:56 AM   #8
Laner7
Eight Point
 
Laner7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Upton county
Default

So something like this? It has a pressure switch already installed.
Attached Images
 
Laner7 is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 10-24-2020, 07:01 AM   #9
60 Deluxe
Ten Point
 
60 Deluxe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Coke County
Hunt In: at home
Default

My experience with electrical driven equipment is that the greatest amount of wear and tear will be on the contact points of the starter. In this case, it will be the pressure switch. I would not do anything out of the ordinary. A pressure switch r&r is about a fifteen minute job. Make sure to use a properly sized capacitor pump controller as well. I think that you will find that almost all of your repairs will be in the control system and not the pump itself.
60 Deluxe is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 10-24-2020, 09:07 AM   #10
TxKronik
Ten Point
 
TxKronik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Northern Bexar county/Bulverde area
Hunt In: Webb and Comal County
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Laner7 View Post
So something like this? It has a pressure switch already installed.


This should do just fine.
TxKronik is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 10-24-2020, 09:47 AM   #11
Hunter_Man
Ten Point
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Default

I sell solar powered well kits. For the reason being discussed here, that is why mine feature soft start and stop.... basically slowly spinning up and down as to not prematurely wear the pump, and eliminating the need for torque arrestors.

If anyone is interested feel free to contact me 325-305-6064. My kits are 750$.
Hunter_Man is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 10-24-2020, 10:03 AM   #12
Pstraw
Ten Point
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: Henderson
Hunt In: Front yard or back yard
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Laner7 View Post
So something like this? It has a pressure switch already installed.
That should do it. Remember to protect it and the wiring from the livestock.
Pstraw is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 10-24-2020, 10:34 AM   #13
Ohio Darin
Eight Point
 
Ohio Darin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Cincinnati, Ohio
Hunt In: Ohio, Kentucky, Indiana
Default

I would rig up one of these. A lot cheaper option than the rigged up float switch you were looking at.

https://www.homedepot.com/p/10-ft-Fl...oduct-overview
Ohio Darin is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 10-24-2020, 12:47 PM   #14
Laner7
Eight Point
 
Laner7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Upton county
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ohio Darin View Post
I would rig up one of these. A lot cheaper option than the rigged up float switch you were looking at.

https://www.homedepot.com/p/10-ft-Fl...oduct-overview
I looked at that, but I donít understand how that would cut the pump off? I guess I could wire it into the control box? But where does the wire from the power source (breaker) tie into if there is no pressure switch?

The one I posted just makes sense in my head, because I have that switch to tie it all into. I know Iím over thinking. Just donít want that well to run continuously.
Laner7 is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 10-24-2020, 12:53 PM   #15
Ohio Darin
Eight Point
 
Ohio Darin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Cincinnati, Ohio
Hunt In: Ohio, Kentucky, Indiana
Default

Look at the wire diagram under assembly/instructions link. If pump
Doesnít have a wire box just get a waterproof electrical box. Common gets wired together and hot to switch. Then switch to pump. Pretty simple


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Ohio Darin is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 10-24-2020, 12:59 PM   #16
Laner7
Eight Point
 
Laner7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Upton county
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ohio Darin View Post
Look at the wire diagram under assembly/instructions link. If pump
Doesnít have a wire box just get a waterproof electrical box. Common gets wired together and hot to switch. Then switch to pump. Pretty simple


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Ah gotcha. That makes sense now! Thanks
Laner7 is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old Today, 08:23 PM   #17
Hunter_Man
Ten Point
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Default

I sell solar well pumps for 1/2 the price of competitors! Pm me!
Hunter_Man is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:22 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 1999-2012, TexasBowhunter.com