Wasted talent

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Wasted talent

A little background of myself. I didn't grow up in rodeo but fell in love when I was in 6th grade. I started riding bulls and bareback horses. I was somewhat sucessful in highschool, winning the Texas Reserve Championship and National Reserve Championship in bareback. I went to college on a rodeo scholarship but came up short of expectations due to injuries. Even though I had my PRCA card, I never made any of their finals. ( I did win sevral PRCA RODEOS) Due to injuries and confidence I found myself focusing on the amatuer circuit. I was successful to some degree but always thought less of myself. I hung it up in 2001. For the wrong reasons.

FAST FORWARD to last night. MY wife and I went to the local amatuer rodeo. My little girl was entered in the the mutton busting and we were behind the chutes getting ready. I was nervous as hell. I wanted her to do well. Anyways, while we are waiting a guy from the area came up to me and asked if I was Brandon Arrington and I said I was. He shook his head and told me I was a waisted talent and I should have gone to the finals (NFR). I didn't know what to do but nod.

Either way it got me to thinking. I wonder if I have it in me to get myself in shape and for one last time nod my head. Make the circuit finals. I don't want my daughter to ever have someone tell her I was wasted talent.

Go for it, you only live once!

Comment

Originally posted by BUCKJUNKIE View Post
      Go for it, you only live once!
      Agreed!

Comment

Might be different with a family now. Lots more to lose. Something u would have to sit down with the family and discuss. Anyway what has the guy done that said that to you. My guess would be not much. Sounds like you have a good life going for you so I wouldnt worry about what could have been and make the most out of your life now. JMO

Comment