Oil Refining profit?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Oil Refining profit?

As a math teacher I know that numbers can be made to read what ever you want, so here are my numbers.
    I googled the price of crude and refined gas for these numbers and I know the info you get depends on whose website you go to.

Crude Oil Gas
    Nov 2015 $50 a barrel $2.20 a gal (National Avg)

Jan 20, 2016 $28.15 $1.91 a gal (National Avg)

43.7% drop in price 13.2% drop in price

Demand price is not dropping as fast as Supply price?
    Someone is making more money than before and it is not the oil field workers
    But I bet when oil does go up again, gas prices will sky rocket!

What do you think?

I think you are right based on nothing more than fifty years of observation.

Comment

$28 a barrel for crude but a gallon of dello motor oil is still $15 a gallon. I'd say they are making more now

Comment

Remember, the raw material is not the only expense associated with the production. Other expenses, including labor and the costs of physical plants associated with refining, are more or less fixed expenses that don't float with either the price of oil or, in some cases, the amount of oil being refined. Not to say they aren't making more margin, it's just there are many more things to consider before drawing that conclusion.

Comment

Way more to costs of refining oil than just the feed price of the oil itself. Someone has to pay for the storage, transportation, pipelines, refinery equipment, etc. Also, remember, there is about an almost 50 cent tax per gallon of gas tacked onto that price.

Refining profits are actually starting to suffer quite a bit with the low oil prices.

Comment

Originally posted by Ag 96 View Post