Who all are HVAC technicians?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Who all are HVAC technicians?

Just testing waters. Thinking of making a career change but would need to go back to school to do so. What is the difference between the AAS in air conditioning and refrigeration and the certificate? What can one do over the other? Thanks in advance for the help.

Quite a few of us here on tbh. I was in the industry for 9 years and now in oil and gas. Still do plenty o the side though. I have a trade degree/certificate and I've never had an issue getting a job. I got it in Austin in 2007 and went to work immediately. I met many guys whom had the associates from ACC and they were on the same level as a new tech. The teachings aren't different, just longer. You will get the same universal cert once you finish (and pass test) either program. Trade schools are way more expensive I can tell ya that. But you're done in months instead of a couple years.
    As for what you get from going either route, nothing is different. You will be a worm in the industry either way lol. Basic teachings and skills will be taught to you either way.

Comment

I did 7 years in the field doing commercial service. If you can do the job you will have work. There are plenty of guys with both or neither that do the job. There are certain things that are better explained in a classroom setting though. There is a lot of overtime and on call depending on the company.

Comment

Thanks for the input. I just didn't know if one meant more over the other or what. I have a couple guys I know who own their own company and they are making good money. Lots of hard work but they say it's worth it.

Comment

Originally posted by robbyreneeward View Post
          Thanks for the input. I just didn't know if one meant more over the other or what. I have a couple guys I know who own their own company and they are making good money. Lots of hard work but they say it's worth it.