Does killing coyotes make there be more coyotes

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Does killing coyotes make there be more coyotes

Someone told me that reducing the population of coyotes with traps would actually make there be more coyotes long term because they have larger litters...

Sooo... whatcha think?

That makes no sense at all but I'm no expert. I can see more yotes surviving from a litter because there are less mouths to feed because of trapping. But not sure how litter size would increase from trapping. I will still shoot all yotes on sight cuz it's fun.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

Comment

This reminds me of Cliff Clavin's buffalo theory...

A herd of buffalo can only move as fast as the slowest buffalo. And when the herd is hunted, it is the slowest and weakest ones at the back that are killed first.

This natural selection is good for the herd as a whole, because the general speed and health of the whole group keeps improving by the regular killing of the weakest members.

In much the same way, the human brain can only operate as fast as the slowest brain cells. Excessive intake of alcohol, as we know, kills brain cells. But naturally it attacks the slowest and weakest brain cells first.

In this way, regular consumption of beer eliminates the weaker brain cells, making the brain a faster and more efficient machine. That's why you always feel smarter after a few beers.

Comment

I don't know that there will be more long term but I do remember reading or listening to a podcast that said as population decreases that the litter size naturally become larger. So it would also stand to reason that as coyote population reaches closer to the natural level that litter size would then decrease as well.

Comment