first point bowhunting

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

first point bowhunting

I am a college student on a budget but I want/need a bowhunting get away during this upcoming fall semester. I looked at First Point and it looks awesome. Anyone have any info on it or maybe have been there and can inform me on anything (good or bad) I should know before booking a hunt.

You can probably search the threads and find a lot of info on First Point.

I will try to paraphrase most of the posts.

There are lots of deer there with huge numbers of does and fawns. There are plenty of trophy bucks to been seen but they are very wary from the many hunters.

Hunt hard, stay hidden, play the wind and do some scouting and you may get a shot at a good deer. If not a trophy at least a quality mature buck.

I have hunted there twice and both times have been within 10 yards of their legal bucks which is 3.5 years old. I took neither shot but I can kick myself for not taking this one this past season. On a day lease, not sure why I was waiting for something bigger. I must not have been in my right mind at the time.

This one was a cull with some messed up horns. No brow tines and about a 10 inch wide rack. He was an old codger but I can see why no one put him down.

First Point has two mobile homes rigged out with bunk beds. You will get a bathroom to take a hot shower and a toilet. Each has a kitchen with stove and microwave. That is about it with nothing fancy and the bare essentials but with a roof over your head. Bring bed clothes or a sleeping bag for the bunk beds.