Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

East Texas 2017: Pigs, pigs and more pigs!!!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

East Texas 2017: Pigs, pigs and more pigs!!!

I’ve been hunting same ground in east Texas for 38 years now. We’ve always had hogs, but nothing like this year. Just finished trail cam survey and it’s ridiculous how few deer to hogs are hitting unfenced corn baited sites. May as well not bait anyplace without a hog panel corral around the feeder or protein trough.

Is this unique to northern Polk County or is everyplace in east Texas covered up in hogs this year?

I appreciate all the offers to bring hog doggers, shoot our hogs for us, bring traps etc but we deal with them ourselves and have killed nearly 120 in 6 months of 2018 on 6000 acres without much impact. We’ve got large corral traps everywhere and stay after them. Don’t need help eradicating- just wondering if the whole region is as ate up with these dang corn and protein thieves?

And I know it’s not 2017 anymore but once title is inserted you can’t edit it so spare me the smart arse corrections please.
    Attached Files
    Last edited by Pineywoods Paul; 08-06-2018, 10:16 AM.

Click image for larger version

Name:	0DD388AF-ED49-45BA-87FF-FB0E8ADDF6A9.jpeg
Views:	1
Size:	75.5 KB
ID:	24547790East Tx as well, Trinity county. The hogs are on us pretty good this year as well. At end of last year we had about 4 large trap shy boars. Looks like not all were boars. Had a new group of piglets show up.

Comment

It's 2018

Sorry

Comment

They been terrible

Comment

I'm covered with them as well. We have 2 groups of 20-30 that come through daily. I have pens around 2 feed stations and 3 without. The 3 without are pig killing areas. Deer rarely hit them and would rather go to the pens. I have many pics with deer inside pens and hogs just outside circling for feed. I also have 1 big boar that doesn't mind jumping inside and eating all he can! He will die this month!

Comment