Reply
Go Back   TexasBowhunter.com Community Discussion Forums > Topics > Around the Campfire
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-09-2012, 06:33 PM   #1
Huntindad
Pope & Young
 
Huntindad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Leander / Liberty Hill
Hunt In: Kerr county & TP&W
Default Question about changing cams ... Mathews Z7.

I have a Mathews Z7. It came with a 28" cam. After shooting it a little, i swapped it for a 27.5" cam. Now... I think the 28" would be a better fit.... so my question is...

If I swapped out the 27.5 for a 28" cam, would I have to mess with the nock point and peep sight ???

Not sure if .5 " draw would cause those to be out of whack... any one done this?????

thanx,

David
Huntindad is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 04-09-2012, 06:44 PM   #2
JFISHER
Pope & Young
 
JFISHER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Boerne
Default

If I take a bow apart, especially to the point of exchanging a cam... it gets completely re tuned.

but that's just me.
JFISHER is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 04-09-2012, 06:45 PM   #3
Huntindad
Pope & Young
 
Huntindad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Leander / Liberty Hill
Hunt In: Kerr county & TP&W
Default

I figure to do that... just wondering how much of adjustment it may cause.
Huntindad is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 04-09-2012, 08:10 PM   #4
Buckrider
Ten Point
 
Buckrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Terrell
Hunt In: Fairfield
Default

Did it mess it up when you did the swap the first time?
Buckrider is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 04-09-2012, 08:17 PM   #5
bowhuntntxn
Pope & Young
 
bowhuntntxn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Denton, TX
Default

Did you take measurements before the cam swap? Like from the top axle to the center of the d loop. Or from the top of the center serving to the center of the d loop. And from the center of the d loop to the center of your peep sight. If you did you could set them right back if they need to move.
bowhuntntxn is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 04-09-2012, 08:45 PM   #6
Huntindad
Pope & Young
 
Huntindad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Leander / Liberty Hill
Hunt In: Kerr county & TP&W
Default

No & no... I hadn't settled in the peep when I switched. Which is, I think my mistake. I really switched cams before getting used to the bow. Now that I have shot it for a season... I think the extra .5 " would be better for my form and would feel better.

Guess I will go to the local shop(Archery Country) and see what we can do.
Huntindad is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 04-09-2012, 09:04 PM   #7
bowhuntntxn
Pope & Young
 
bowhuntntxn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Denton, TX
Default

You it need to make some small adjustment to get it back to shooting good for you. But it should not be anything really dramatic. They will help ya out.
bowhuntntxn is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 04-09-2012, 09:08 PM   #8
BigL
Pope & Young
 
BigL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Georgetown
Hunt In: San Saba, Burnet
Default

Most likely you will have to mess with it. I just changed cams on my bow but I also put a new string on it, so I started from scratch anyway.
BigL is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 04-09-2012, 09:09 PM   #9
BigL
Pope & Young
 
BigL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Georgetown
Hunt In: San Saba, Burnet
Default

if you need help let me know. I'm not near as quick as they are at archery country but I have everything at my house and can eventually get it done...
BigL is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 04-09-2012, 09:17 PM   #10
Huntindad
Pope & Young
 
Huntindad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Leander / Liberty Hill
Hunt In: Kerr county & TP&W
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BigL View Post
if you need help let me know. I'm not near as quick as they are at archery country but I have everything at my house and can eventually get it done...
you got a 28" cam laying around
Huntindad is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 04-09-2012, 09:26 PM   #11
BigL
Pope & Young
 
BigL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Georgetown
Hunt In: San Saba, Burnet
Default

No but I do have a 30.5" Mathews cam here at the house...

I assumed since you said it originally came with a 28" cam that you might still have it.
BigL is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 04-09-2012, 09:42 PM   #12
Huntindad
Pope & Young
 
Huntindad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Leander / Liberty Hill
Hunt In: Kerr county & TP&W
Default

naah... since it was new, I traded it for a 27.5 at Archery Country.
Huntindad is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:10 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1999-2012, TexasBowhunter.com