Broadheads hitting different than field points

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Broadheads hitting different than field points

I will start this by saying, i am very new to shooting bows. I had my bow tuned by cabelas. I am shooting about a 2 inch group at 20 yards with field points, and can replicate this almost every time and have the same poi. I decided to try a broad head today. It hit WAY right of my field point POI. The group also opened way up. What caused this? Even if I re zero the bow for the broad heads I will still have a huge group. It was also my understanding that bows should have the same POI with field points as they do with broadheads. I'm shooting Gold Tip 300 Spine arrows wth 100 Grain field Points and 100 Grain HellRazors.

Not knocking the bow techs at cabelas but maybe try a bow shop that does nothing but tuning something is out of wack be it your bow itself maybe need to index your arrows and broadheads together or maybe arrows could be wrong spine there's a lot of different possibilities

Kas
    Hoyt defiant turbo
    Hoyt nitrum turbo

Comment

Try turning the nocks on your arrows to the next fletching to bring the group in closer. Do it one arrow at a time so you can see which fletching works the best for that specific arrow.

Comment

Gonna need a lot more info than what you provided in order to help out with this. With what you listed I would say your arrows are over spined to stiff.

Comment

Arrows with broad heads can float like a knuckleball if not 'tuned' correctly. Ask around about getting your bow 'paper tuned.' That process can identify the need for some adjustments, which can allow for true flying arrows, regardless of field tip or broad head adornment.

Comment

This is a good guide for tuning:

Comment

Go take your bow to a different shop and have it paper tuned.

Comment

What rest, draw weight, draw length?

Comment

Please visit your local bow shop

Comment