Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

what's your favorite venison meal in the crock-pot?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

what's your favorite venison meal in the crock-pot?

I'm a poor college student with a freezer full of venison and a crock-pot. If y'all could shoot me a few great recipes i would be much obliged.

It really depends on what all you have.

For me in corckpot:

Ground meat = chili

Roasts = pot roast & stew

Round steak = stew or cook in a brown gravy kinda deal

Heck for that matter you can even heat up smoked link sausage in there too.

Just look up beef crock-pot recipes and roll with it!

I love cooking wild game in my crock pot...enjoy!

Comment

-Make them into meatballs using an egg, some bread crumbs and a bit of olive oil and seasonings, brown them throw them into a crock pot with gravy or spaghetti sauce!

-if you have cubed meat then carne guisada is easy, look for Fiesta Brand spices, they have a carne guisada mix that is good.

-Deer steaks are great with a can of cream of chicken soup a little watered down and a packet of ranch dressing mix

-Mix ground venison with a little butter or olive oil, some bread crumbs, onion, bell pepper, and make meatloaf out of it in the crock pot, just shape it in there and let it roll on low.

Also, making baked potatoed in the crock pot are super easy, wrap them in foil and let them go low for 18 hours. A cheap alternative.
      Then you can brown your deer meat and add some barbque sauce and make a stuffed potato!

Hope those help, we live off deer meat, and I love cooking with a crock pot.

Comment

I had a big gallon bag of cubed up meat that I was going to grind up but got lazy and ended up just putting it in the crock pot with a bag of onion soup mix, some beef broth and some other spices (cayenne, salt, pepper, garlic powder) and let it go on low for 8 or 9hrs and then shredded it up and made sandwiches and burritos, ect. Good stuff and EASY.

Comment