Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Ground Blind: Leave it up or take it down?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Ground Blind: Leave it up or take it down?

This is my first year using a ground blind, so I'm not familiar with its durability. I have an Ameristep, and I'm hunting in the piney woods in Polk County. I set it up last weekend and left it just to let the deer get used to it, but I'm not sure how long I want to leave it. I'll be back to hunt again next weekend, but hadn't decided if I want to take it down, and set it back up on Friday.

What do y'all do with your pop-up blinds?

Leave it unless you have neighbors that might take it.

Comment

I leave mine. I have 2 that I've left for about 4 years. They are no longer useable this year. I'll pick mine up at the end of season then put them back out at the beginning of September next year.

Comment

Leave it.

Comment

I set one up two days before opening day a couple of years ago. We had some wind on Friday. Saturday morning thirty minutes before sunrise I go to get in my pop up and it is not there. The stakes were in the ground but the blind was gone. I still haven't found it.
          No tracks so it wasn't stolen. Just something to consider...

Comment

Originally posted by cwd500 View Post
            I leave mine. I have 2 that I've left for about 4 years. They are no longer useable this year. I'll pick mine up at the end of season then put them back out at the beginning of September next year.
            This is what I do. The way I see it is the deer notice changes in their surroundings. Constantly adding and taking away a big "bush" will make them uneasy. I even leave the shooting window on my doublebull open all season long so they get used to that as well.

Comment

Well that solves that. Thanks.