Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

New to Traditional

Howdy folks,

I have a question regarding carbon arrows out of a recurve. I'm currently shooting Eastland 2213 Aluminum shafts but would like to switch over to carbon Gold Tips and I'm not sure of weight I should be looking at. I'm pulling #48, and am looking at hunting with 175gr heads this next year.

Do ya'll think I should be looking at 5575's or 7595's?

Thank you,

Jake

Welcome to trad, Jake!

I'm no arrow expert, but I'm going to take a wild guess that the arrows you're shooting are probably too stiff for a 48# bow, unless they're fairly long? But before we go any further, what's your draw length? Also, is the 48# at your draw length? Or is it rated as 48# at 28" of draw?

Anyway, once you get the right arrows figured out, you'll be surprised at how much better they'll shoot. The arrow experts on here should weigh in soon enough and get you headed in the right direction.

Comment

What kind of Recurve and do you know if the string is Fast Flight or not? What is your draw length?

Comment

I agree with those aluminums being too stiff for a 48# bow. I shoot Gold Tips and I think you will be looking mostly at the 35/55. The 55/75 will need a lot of weight up front to make them tune correctly. The 55/75's might work OK if you go with 100gr brass inserts and the 175gr point (but do not cut them off any or you will make them too stiff).

Bisch

Comment

The draw length is 28.5", and the bow is a Red Wing Hunter at 48# at 28"

Thanks for the help, it's definitely a lot of fun and very humbling.

Jake

Comment

At 28 1/2" DL you should be able to use the 55/75's if you also use the 100gr insert. If you want to stay with the standard insert, you will need to go with the 35/55 and play with length till you get it right.

Oh yeah, welcome to the fun side!

Bisch

Comment