Go Back   TexasBowhunter.com Community Discussion Forums > Topics > Around the Campfire

Old 02-04-2017, 07:31 AM   #1
miket
Pope & Young

Hunt In: Grimes County, Victoria
Default Things turning bad at work. Need advise. Go out on my own? Suck it up?

Things are turning real bad at work and Im not sure what to do. I have been working for an oil tool company for 9 1/2yrs. I started there as a machinist, then programming while running a machine and then within about 6 months added supervisor duties while running a machine and programming ( I have been a machinist/programmer/leadman etc since 1993 ). I moved up financially and the company treated me well. There were definitely some tough times, including when the Deepwater Horizon burned and the layed off all the cnc guys except me. During this time I had a boss above me that was over the entire machine shop. Without getting too detailed, he is very favored by the owner of the company.

Approx 2yrs ago they split the machine shop and put me as manager of the CNC Dept and the other guy ( the one that was over the entire machine shop previously ) Around the beginning of the year they put me over the entire machine shop but left the other guy as a manager, though he was not over anything. ( the owners favored guy ) We weathered the oil crash very well until April of last year. We layed off a couple of guys but things started picking up this summer and we hired a few.

Then the owner sold his flagship product line in July. It was the money maker, a rental.tool that had a high margins. Now we are left with a very good product line, but one that has a low margin, with high costs to make.