Go Back   TexasBowhunter.com Community Discussion Forums > Topics > Around the Campfire

Old 03-19-2016, 09:06 AM   #1
Grant2
Ten Point

Hunt In: Comfort, Kerrville
Default Select Baseball

Any of you guys have a kid playing select baseball or softball? I have been coaching select ball for 3 years now and love every minute of it watching these kids grow and develop is unreal. I coach a 10u team here in Kingwood and hope to do it for many years to come. I have been playing and coaching for 30+ yrs and still love the game today as I did when I started playing. Hope to see some of you guys at some tournament this year we play at the Scrapyard,Baseball USA,Rothwood,Katy and a few other parks here in the Houston area. Good luck to you guys this year.
Grant2 is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 03-19-2016, 09:16 AM   #2
jbarr
Ten Point

Hunt In: Hill Country, S. Tesas

We did it for 2 years and had fun and met some really good people but it seems the 2 teams my son played on it turned into daddy ball. He plays league ball but I do miss watching tournaments sometimes because there are some really good teams and players. Good luck.
jbarr is online now   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 03-19-2016, 09:22 AM   #3
Grant2
Ten Point

I have seen the daddy ball come into play a lot in select ball. I have a son on the team, but I have told every kid on the team you compete for your spot every week and that includes my son. I have told my boys to put in the extra work to be able to compete every week, but at the same time make it fun b/c I'm still in the reality there 10yr old and don't push to hard. Sorry to here that your son had that experience it is a lot of fun if you have a good group of parents and kids.
Old 03-19-2016, 09:23 AM   #4
Johnny
Pope & Young

Hunt In: Montgomery & Madison Counties