DB Hunting RANCH

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

DB Hunting RANCH

I was in the Marines for 6 years have been away from hunting and decided to pick up bow hunting. I am pretty new to the bow and looking to take my first animal, I am looking for a hog or a ram for a decent price in the Austin area without killing the wallet.

Does anyone have any reviews of this place or somewhere close to Austin for a reasonable price?
    Last edited by Grizzly_Mode; 06-24-2014, 03:52 AM.

Took my son there. We saw a lot of animals and popped a hog with a rifle. The place is set up for archery, but not exclusively. The prices are very good, but the hunt and facilities are pretty basic. You meet at a gas station at 5am, follow to the ranch, load up in the ranch truck, and get dropped off. Shoot your animal and wait to get picked up. Clean it, pay, and leave. There's not really anywhere to hang out, and I'm not sure the ranch is manned 24/7. Could be wrong but it didn't seem that way when we went.

We had a good time, but as far as a true hunt goes, I wouldn't expect a whole lot. Truthfully it isn't any different than what most folks do during deer season: wake up early and park your butt over a feeder and wait for it to go off.

I did see a huge fallow deer there that I nearly took but held off, and we also saw some good axis and blackbuck.

Comment

Things may have changed over the years but when I went a while back in the middle of summer it smelled awful. The gut pile was never really cleaned and when the wind blew it really stank. We were told it was a 700 acre ranch when we were thinking about setting up but they ended up taking us to about a 40 ac trap inside of that for rams. If you're looking for a bow kill though this would be a good start, there are lots of animals and some nice ones too. All depends on what you want out of the hunt.

Comment