4 blade vs 2

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

4 blade vs 2

I am new to trad, and therefore ignorant to the pros and cons of broadheads out of a trad setup. I am getting confident enough to try and hunt pigs this year (shot range limited to 10 yards or less), and I am unsure what style broadheads to get. I have narrowed the brand down to either swickey or Magnus stinger, but I am not sure whether to go 4 blade or 2. Are there any benefits of going to a 2 blade other than possibly better flight? Are there any mechanical advantage drawbacks to the bleeder blade style of each of these 4 blade heads that would hinder the arrow from penetrating?

My setup
    Vista sage (bass pro special) 40#@28"
    DL is around 27
    Arrows are beman blems a buddy got for me with a total weight of around 550 grains with a 145gr head.
    I would like to get either the 150 grain Magnus or the 160 grain zwickeys.

From my experiences with 2 blades and 4 blade broadheads, is that the 2 blades always seem to get better penetration

But at times blood trails with 2 blades can be iffy depending on where you hit them, 4 blades produce some nasty blood trails but can lack on arrow flight and penetration if your arrow is too light

That's why I use shark broadheads, they're pricey but I've never seen better blood trails for a 2 blade broadhead better than a shark

For you're set up I would get a 2 blade for maximum penetration

125 or 150, no need to go any higher, either Magnus stinger, zwickeys and I will always recommend the Sharks, best traditional broadhead ive ever hunted with

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Comment