300 WSM VS deer

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

300 WSM VS deer

I shot 2 deer with my 300wsm this am. Sitting Barnes TSX Blue Tip ammo.

I'm confident in saying both were inside 150 yds.

First left shoulder shot,
    Second right side behind shoulder.

Waited 30 minutes before tracking.

I just quit. I couldn't find any blood. Even did a small grid search in the trees. Didn't do a big one for great if burning there area.

I based this choice upon my expectation of a pass thru it good blood trail with this round.
    I have first have experience with this round going thru both shoulders on a big sow.

Am I seeing in my Expectations?
    If not how can I narrow down MY failure.

This is my first time dealing with this with Deer.
    I hate it even more.

I chose to use my 300WSM today so I wouldn't have to deal with this....

I feel pretty confident in saying you did not hit first deer in high shoulder or it would never have moved. Barnes bullets are great for penetration. Blood trails, not so much.

Comment

Originally posted by Drycreek3189 View Post
      I feel pretty confident in saying you did not hit first deer in high shoulder or it would never have moved. Barnes bullets are great for penetration. Blood trails, not so much.
      This. Barnes are excellent for bigger game, Moose, Elk, Nilgai. But with deer I find them to be more effective at further ranges, 300 plus.

Comment

What grain bullet?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Comment

As stated above. Your bullet most likely didn’t expand, just blew right through them. Your first deer should have dropped. If you’re confident you hit both deer, they probably ran a good ways with little to no blood. My dad had this happen with a 270 years ago with the Winchester power points he was using. Double lunged deer would run over 200 yds with very little blood. Perfect shot placement, just not good bullet expansion upon entry. Changed bullets, problem solved.