Best Lures for Llano River Fish

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Best Lures for Llano River Fish

In a couple of weeks, I am going to be kayaking the Llano river somewhere around the Mason area. I have never done small river fishing like this before. I am most interested in catching the most number of fish that I can. My question is, what are the main species that I will be targeting, and what are some suggestions as to which kind of lures/rigs to use? I will be using small spinning reels most likely. Thanks in advance.

I wont be much help on lure selection BUT I did kayak a section of the Llano a couple months ago and I will tell you to make sure you are ready to walk/drag your kayak! The area we went through even had a couple places with drops over 2feet (I thought I could make one and flipped.)

I personally will not take my kayak through that stretch ever again. My poor Wilderness 115X got a bunch of beauty marks that day!

Comment

I'm no expert, but I would think smaller lures like a tiny torpedo, small spinner baits, and smaller worms/grubs would work well.

My lease outside of Mason is on the San Saba. I have had good luck there with 3" tube baits in natural colors like green and light brown.

Comment

Road runner, 1/4 ounce

Comment

live bait! Take a small cast net.

Comment

small inline spinners
            small grubs on small jig heads
            small floating rapallas

...you will catch bass and bluegills

Comment

One of the best lures I find when fishing small rivers is the spook. If you want to save some money, you can get something similar. These works great!

Simple "Walk-the-dog" action and the strikes are awesome. I've caught everything from largemouth bass to stripers on these off the Brazos river. Best part is, you don't have to worry about it getting hung up on rocks since its a topwater lure. Just toss it out there, work it back and watch the water explode! Good luck man

Comment