Growing Oaks from Acorns

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Growing Oaks from Acorns

Anyone else do it? I will admit that I am a tree nerd. I have had success growing seedlings in the past but am going to step it up this year. I usually try to raise 15-20 seedlings every year and plant them out on my property. This year I am going to be planting 588 cells. I am in the process of turning my closet underneath the staircase into a grow room. I already have 50 White Oaks and 25 Chinquapin Oaks sending down roots. I will be planting White Oak (2 varieties), Chinquapin Oak, Water Oak, Overcup Oak, Shumard Red Oak, Alghenny Chinquapin, Chinese Chestnut, American/Chinese Chestnut Hybrid, Flatwoods Plum, and Japanese Maples. Anyone else on here a tree nerd?

Just getting started.

Tagged! I am a beginner tree nerd. I got some Monterrey oaks in pots waiting to sprout. Already have some Mexican sycamores that are growing. 2 year's ago we had 6 mountain laurels come up from seed and are going strong and may need new pots or put in the ground. Rosebuds are next to go in starter pots.

Comment

My mom has started lots of live oaks in her flowerbed and then transplanted em....

Comment

You should also look to join the Arbor foundation, as a member you can buy bulk seedlings cheap

Comment

If you need nursery containers let me know. I have a few thousand

Be careful with starting an I door grow. My house got raided for suspected marijuana grow. They found a few hundred live oaks in the back yard and their big score was the frozen broccoli I put up from the garden. Still have the dents in my front door. Thank go my door was unlocked and came open with the ram instead of coming off the hinges.

Comment