Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

need some cattle raising tips....

for city slickers.

Parents just bought a couple acres and decided they wanted to feed out a couple cows for the family each year. they have about 2-2.5 acres with a small tank and a few mature trees. the property has been neglected for years and only been used off and on for horses.

they are too old to jump into this alone so I figure I'm going to have to run point. not sure what Dad's thinking, this really isn't his game. mom just wants a healthy alternative to buying store bought beef.

all I know about raising beef is it tastes great on the grill. looking for any tips for a complete newby in this. what breed? what do I need to do to improve the pasture? when do we start? in short, what am I getting myself into?

I think it will be fun and rewarding, and great to get the kids involved. but like I really needed another project on my plate.

any help educating me will be greatly appreciated.

You already got the hat so first step done. God luck

Comment

Get ready to buy a lot of feed. 2.5 acres will not support much

Comment

After a couple of years you won't even like beef on the grill.

Comment

I have always heard 4-5 acres per head so you will be buying more feed and hay than most. I have 10 acres and thought about cattle but could only support a few head so I went with boer goats instead. A lot less feed and the 10 acres will support more animals.
          A buddy of mine does what your talking about though. He will buy a 5-7 month pregnant cow at auction and raise the young till off teat, slaughter the cow for personal consumption and by the time he goes through the meat the offspring is big enough for slaughter. Then go buy another pregnant cow and start over again. He hasn't purchased grocery store beef in 20 years or more.

Comment

Buy mini-cows

Comment