Broad head weight help please

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Broad head weight help please

I'm shooting a samick sage 50# 29" draw 400 spine gold tip 32" long. What grain head should I be shooting. Any help would be appreciated

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Do you know how to tune your arrows to your bow? If so that will determine what weight you need.

Richard.

Edit: I ran your numbers through a calculator for a baseline and assuming a 12strand FF sting and four 5" fletchings you'll need about 100g head.

Comment

I'm shooting some 100grain field points cause that's all I have right now. No I'm not sure how to tune but my arrows are fly straight

Comment

you need to load the bow and head CCR.

Comment

Originally posted by 125Dad View Post
          you need to load the bow and head CCR.
          I'm new to this and have no clue what that means

Comment

You really need to find an experienced trad shooter in your area to help you out. There is no way to answer your question over the internet. I can tell you that if you are shooting 50# at your draw length, and you are shooting .400 spine shafts with standard aluminum inserts and 100gr points, you are probably waaaaaaaay too stiff (but even that is a guess with not knowing a lot of other info).

Bisch

Comment

Originally posted by Junkers88 View Post
              Do you know how to tune your arrows to your bow? If so that will determine what weight you need.

Richard.

Edit: I ran your numbers through a calculator for a baseline and assuming a 12strand FF sting and four 5" fletchings you'll need about 100g head.
              This is correct..but that's only putting you a little over 8 gpp, which is a tad on the light side.

Comment

Is there any trad shooters around Pleasanton. Willing to help me out.

Comment

Originally posted by Bisch View Post