Recurve poundage and deer chest cavity penetration

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Recurve poundage versus penetration on deer.

Obviously there are differences between a 70lb and a 40lb bow but what are we talking about between 45 and 55lbs?

I'm a compound turning recurve hunter and draw 64lbs on my compound. I'm shooting a 47lb recurve and am always wanting to increase poundage because I feel it's too low poundage.

Just need some basic education here.

I'm a newbie too, but from everything I've read and heard 50lbs is more than enough for deer, and ok for elk. Especially if you have a longer DL. For deer size animals I don't know that you'd notice that much difference between 45 and 55. I know my 48 lb bow blew through a big fallow doe at Big Oak and stuck in the dirt on the other side at 16 yards.

Comment

Just to give you a little more confidence in your draw weight. The pig in my avatar was taken a month or so ago with a longbow that is about 50 at my draw. It is a VERY nice shooter, but nothing crazy. The pig is somewhere around 225 and I had MOST of the arrow hanging out the backside.The only whitetail I connected on this season, with my longbow, had a pass through so fast I thought I may have shot under it for a brief moment.
      Well tuned arrows and good placement can make a 45 lb bow VERY lethal.

Comment

From all I've read it's not really a matter of poundage although that does come into play. It's more about weight forward or "Front-of-center" %. I don't have any data on actual deer hunting to support this but can confirm that shooting 12% FOC arrows out of my 45lb Journey (before I sold it) didn't penetrate my 18" compressed cardboard target near as far as 22% FOC arrows out of my 45lb Grizzly.