Sad news for this old Ag

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Sad news for this old Ag

Just got thru reading an article on Texags.com about G.Rollie White being torn down. They will start demolitioning it the middle of August in preparation for the Kyle Field expansion. I spent many a night in G.Rollie at basketball games and concerts- I remember when Steve Martin played there and the line was around the building with lots of Ags with arrows thru their head.. I remember graduation day for me there- August 18, 1979 and boy was it hot. I always used to use it as a landmark/meet-up place when going to a game. Oh the memories....

That is sad. Good ol' Jolly Rolly. I graduated 13 years ago and every time I go to the campus I am amazed at how much has changed and not in a good way. A&M was built on tradition and it seems that alot of it is being thrown out the window

Comment

Sad news. I too was fortunate enough to walk that stage.

Comment

Saw George Strait there in 91 and used the weight room in the basement to work out. Cool old place. Sorry to see it go.

Comment

I think of all the Friday night concerts before a home football game- Jerry Reed, Charlie Pride, Johnny Rodriguez, Mel Tillis, Pure Prairie League. Michael Murphy (before he was Michael Martin Murphy) played Bonfire weekend- could still see the glow of Bonfire looking out the window from the top row in G. Rollie. Them were some good times. My first yell practice (before they started calling it First Yell) was there. We used to get the place rocking when Shelby was pacing the court.

Comment