what kind of arrows?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

what kind of arrows?

Right now I am shooting aluminum arrows out of my martin due to the fact the guys as basspro told me that is what I needed to shoot for the weight. I am new to the traditional scene so I went with it. I would lots rather shoot carbons so I was wondering if I could use them if I went heavy?

If you shoot carbons than you need have tham a little longer than the alum. And carbons like a lot of weight up front, I shoot Easton Axis 340 29" long with 250 gr BH, I love those skinny carbons I shot are the Easton Axis340,Beman Black Max 400 and Beman Max4 340. All these arrows flew best with alot of point weight 200 to 250 gr. I shoot the Axis out of 54@27 BW PSA they weigh 570 gr. The Bllaclk Max weighed 520gr and Max4 weighed 650gr out of a 54@28 Bruin Defles Express the Max 4 weighed too much for that bow.

Comment

No offense to bow buddy, but I will diasagree with what he said.. Not all carbons need a lot of weight up front. I will say that carbons will take a lot more tinkering, due to the range of spine weight, whereas aluminums are spined much closer together around 5 lbs or so. None of my arrows require more than 125 grains up front and are no longer than would I would ordinarily shoot. I have about 8-10 different dozen brands and spine differences to tinker with. I will bare shaft the arrows until I find the arrow that flies the best and will keep fine tuning from there. I will start full length and add tip weight from 100, 125 ,145, 175. If they are still too stiff I will go to a weaker spine. If the arrows spines weak, I will start trimming the end 1/4" at a time until I find the sweet spot. Carbons just take a little more time, unless you are lucky and hit it on the first try.