Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Condensation on the air-conditioner vents?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Condensation on the air-conditioner vents?

I have a New house that the air-conditioner vents in a number of our rooms have condensation forming them. It didn't do this last summer so I'm not sure what the problem is? Would any of you have any ideas because the air-conditioner guy is at a loss.
    Attached Files

For all those people who find it more convenient to bother you with their question rather than to Google it for themselves.

Comment

My guess is that you are over on your tonnage.

Comment

Im not a pro but condensation is caused by the temperature being lower than the dew point. So that means humidity is too high in the house or temp too low coming out of the vents. Too much humidity in the house is caused by not enough air changes, a/c too large for house, unusually high delta T. Too low temp out of vents is caused by too low air flow over coils. May be fan setting or sizing issue. Hopefully a pro will chime in.

Comment

Does your thermostat show humidity level? Does it feel warmer in the house than than the temperature shows?

Comment

Could also have to do with the installation of the vents. They need to be completely sealed/insulated from the attic air temps.

Oh look a fajita!!

Comment

Talk wih a real AC professional first. Make sure everything is operating ad it should, and the system is balanced (this will require a flow test, and possibly the installation of some dampers)

I'd make sure the boot is sealed to the sheetrock. Mastic is the proper material for this. It is a putty. You can apply it with a paintbrush or spatula. I find it just as easy to wear some nitrile gloves and use my fingers to apply it.

Remove the grill, and if there is a gap between the edges of the boot, and the sheetrock, fill this with mastic and let it dry.