Cost of reloading

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Cost of reloading

I love my ,270’s’, but don’t reload. I may start when I retire.
    What is appromate cost per round excluding brass?
    Thanks

BP
    Last edited by Big pig; 12-09-2018, 07:41 PM.

Very roughly, figuring 4 cents per primer, 30 cents for a bullet, and at 30 dollars a pound for powder and roughly 57 grains per shot, 25 cents for powder, about 59 cents per round. .. Of course you can beat that by shopping around..

Comment

The thing about it, by reusing the brass, you are saving almost half the cost of a store purchase ammo! Not to mention you can load what ever you want as far as bullet weight and speed!

Comment

I have been handloading for about 45 years and have never considered the cost per round. Really don't want to know.

I can say that you probably wont save any money reloading but will be able to shoot alot more for the same amount of money spent on factory ammo.

Boy, I am no help

Comment

With all the crap I have I’m scared to break it down per round. Sure is fun though.

Comment

Cost savings is not going to be that big,if you save at all, unless you shoot a whole lot. But being able to roll your own is nice, you can try all kinda different things. But if you load like the 45-110 sharps, or any of the other black powder cartrige cases then you save a lot. In fact it’s really the only way you can shoot them.
            Last edited by critter69; 12-09-2018, 08:17 PM.

Comment

Originally posted by 2Lazy2P View Post
              With all the crap I have I’m scared to break it down per round. Sure is fun though.
              Yea, I hate to think how much I’ve spent on it, to save money !

Comment

Originally posted by critter69 View Post
                Yea, I hate to think how much I’ve spent on it, to save money !
                Haha, my wife’s go-to line when it comes to money is, “Is this going to save us the kind of money reloading has”?

Comment