Started a new blind

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Started a new blind

So I was walking through the back lot at work, and there was a big pile of conduit for the scrap man, and it got me to thinking….

I really would love to own a nice pop up blind, but they are a bit cost prohibitive right now. How can I make a blind that is similar in size and shape, still relatively simple to move and keep the cost down? I'll weld up a frame out of EMT, top it with corrugated tin or vinyl, and wrap it with sun screen mesh so it's not so miserable to hunt in the warmer months. I can put in plenty of windows, cover them with screen, and it will be plenty sturdy. Stake it down so it doesn't blow away in high winds, and you're golden! This is my first attempt, the prototype if you will. So far, I'm into it for less than $100. Basically it's a 6' cube, with lots of windows (8 windows). I need for it to be sturdy enough to stand up to the weather, but light enough that one or two men can move it easily.

*1" trade size EMT weighs .67lb per foot. I'll total up the footage for this stand to help nail down total weight

Safety:

First off, welding anything that is galvanized, is noxious, so take proper precautions. I invested in a respirator that filters out the zinc fumes (the stuff that makes you sick; zinc poisoning is bad stuff and can damage your respiratory system) I also ponied up for a good set of goggles (yes, even under my welding helmet). Hearing protection, appropriate gloves, a heavy starch long sleeve shirt and pants, and boots finish it off for PPE.

I start with bending up 2 hoops, 6' square (my top and bottom) Everything else will be straight, and either notched or miter cut to keep it simple.

The tin is screwed down to the top hoop, and also at the spreader bars using self tapping (TEK) lath screws.