Reply
Go Back   TexasBowhunter.com Community Discussion Forums > Topics > Around the Campfire
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-02-2019, 06:31 PM   #1
kumathebear
Pope & Young
 
kumathebear's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: DFW area
Hunt In: Anywhere and when I can!
Lightbulb RV Electrical ??

Went to check out our RV's at the lease today. Back on the last week of deer season we had high winds come thru and lost power in the whole area for a extended time. Son had back surgery and I've been under the weather so the 1st time with decent weather to go check things out.

I had gone home early and my son left the next day but there were problems from the outage. Now, my RV's fridge, microwave and TV + Sat box have power but NOTHING else does. Plugs are dead, lights won't come on with NO breakers tripped.

Landon's RV is completely dead, no power at all. No breakers tripped at the pole and his RV has no breakers tripped either.

Any ideas on the problem/problems? We have the RV repair guy out of San Angelo coming hopefully the end of the week but I'm curious.

Thanks...Kuma!
kumathebear is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 04-02-2019, 06:37 PM   #2
Louis
Ten Point
 
Louis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Default

As far as plugs and lights they do have fuses. Gad a problem with lights and plus on mine. Found 2 fuses blown. They are 7.5 amp fuses. Might look at those.
Louis is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 04-02-2019, 06:37 PM   #3
parkchief100
Ten Point
 
parkchief100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Rhome, Texas
Hunt In: Childress, Colorado
Default

May have burned up the inverter but not sure on plugs not working. GL!
parkchief100 is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 04-02-2019, 06:42 PM   #4
MagicBlade
Ten Point
 
MagicBlade's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Keller, Texas
Hunt In: Archer County Texas
Default

Do you have a fault circuit breaker on any of your plugs?
MagicBlade is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 04-02-2019, 06:43 PM   #5
kumathebear
Pope & Young
 
kumathebear's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: DFW area
Hunt In: Anywhere and when I can!
Default

Inverter is what my son thinks it is, who the Hell knows, lol? Always something at the Deer Camp.
kumathebear is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 04-02-2019, 07:06 PM   #6
wsteffen
Ten Point
 
wsteffen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Humble, TX
Hunt In: Jewitt, TX or any where else I can find to go
Default

reset the gfi outlets
wsteffen is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 04-02-2019, 07:08 PM   #7
kumathebear
Pope & Young
 
kumathebear's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: DFW area
Hunt In: Anywhere and when I can!
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wsteffen View Post
reset the gfi outlets
tried this today, no go? Oh, previous response..where the HELL are the fuses you mentioned??
kumathebear is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 04-02-2019, 07:38 PM   #8
parkchief100
Ten Point
 
parkchief100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Rhome, Texas
Hunt In: Childress, Colorado
Default

Sometimes there are fuses in the inverter.
parkchief100 is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 04-02-2019, 07:43 PM   #9
wsteffen
Ten Point
 
wsteffen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Humble, TX
Hunt In: Jewitt, TX or any where else I can find to go
Default

Try turning the breakers off and back on. Sometimes one will trip, but not move to the center.
wsteffen is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 04-02-2019, 07:51 PM   #10
Robertt
Ten Point
 
Robertt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Portland, Tx
Hunt In: Atascosa County, Tx
Default

Take a meter and start at the incoming power. Work your way in to see where you lose power. I agree with turning breakers off and back on. Make sure to push in when turning on. My fuses are near the water pump under the couch close to the inverter. Check both sides of those with your meter. Good luck.
Robertt is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 04-02-2019, 09:16 PM   #11
boy wonder
Ten Point
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Brock
Hunt In: The river
Default

Are both trailers on the same source? Are you sure the power is restored by the Electric co.?
boy wonder is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 04-02-2019, 09:32 PM   #12
Grndchecker
Ten Point
 
Grndchecker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Baytown, TX
Hunt In: Polk County, TX
Default

Except for the plugs not working I would say inverter. Same thing happened to mine last year after lightning strike close to my camper. Anything in my camper that was 12 volt didn't work. Check battery voltage also.
Grndchecker is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 04-02-2019, 10:03 PM   #13
175gr7.62
Ten Point
 
175gr7.62's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Hallsville, TX
Hunt In: Red River County,Harrison County, SW Kansas,
Default RV Electrical ??

Check the panel that has the breakers that supply your outlet for the hook up. You could have a dead leg coming from the transformer. If good there follow advice above and check voltage at the plug, and at the inverter.

Do you have a 50a or 30a service for your camper?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
175gr7.62 is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 04-02-2019, 10:53 PM   #14
Mike D
Pope & Young
 
Mike D's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: North Texas
Hunt In: Haskell County, TX
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Louis View Post
As far as plugs and lights they do have fuses. Gad a problem with lights and plus on mine. Found 2 fuses blown. They are 7.5 amp fuses. Might look at those.


Plugs aren’t on fuses as they are not 12V.

I would have an electrician check the panel. Sounds like a phase or neutral may be lost.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
Mike D is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 04-02-2019, 11:23 PM   #15
zwalker16
Six Point
 
zwalker16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Beaumont, Texas
Default

The converter is fried. You can get them for around 150. Everything for the RV electric runs off that 12v and 120v
zwalker16 is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 04-03-2019, 09:20 AM   #16
bboswell
Pope & Young
 
bboswell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Montgomery County
Hunt In: Where ever I can
Default

sounds to me like you don't have power to both legs of your 220 source
bboswell is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 04-03-2019, 09:28 AM   #17
TexasBob
Pope & Young
 
TexasBob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: NW Houston Area
Default

Check your incoming. I lost one leg on my A/C breaker last year. Cheapest HVAC fix ever thankfully.
TexasBob is online now   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 04-03-2019, 09:36 AM   #18
E.TX.BOWHUNTER
Ten Point
 
E.TX.BOWHUNTER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: East Texas
Hunt In: Texas Public Lands
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TexasBob View Post
Check your incoming. I lost one leg on my A/C breaker last year. Cheapest HVAC fix ever thankfully.
This^. There are 2 sides of your power called phases. Each is a separate 120vac. 3 wires come in from electric company. 1 Neutral and 2 hots/lines. These are the large wires at the top or bottom of the panel going to your main breaker if you have a main. Be sure each side to the neutral is 120 then start looking at your trailer distribution circuits.
E.TX.BOWHUNTER is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 04-03-2019, 10:50 AM   #19
kumathebear
Pope & Young
 
kumathebear's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: DFW area
Hunt In: Anywhere and when I can!
Default

Looks like our RV repair will be this week and possibly have the electric company come out to check the pole as well.

Thanks for all the responses!
kumathebear is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 04-03-2019, 05:23 PM   #20
double bogey
Ten Point
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Mesquite
Hunt In: where ever I can
Default

Most likely have lost a leg of power, which has been said on previous posts, check that before calling repair $$$ guys. could be breaker at the pole.
double bogey is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 04-03-2019, 07:49 PM   #21
bowhntrmatt
Pope & Young
 
bowhntrmatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Stockdale
Hunt In: Comstock, Runge
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by E.TX.BOWHUNTER View Post
This^. There are 2 sides of your power called phases. Each is a separate 120vac. 3 wires come in from electric company. 1 Neutral and 2 hots/lines. These are the large wires at the top or bottom of the panel going to your main breaker if you have a main. Be sure each side to the neutral is 120 then start looking at your trailer distribution circuits.
Electric meter should show 120v from each leg to ground and 240 if you probe both hot legs. Check across both hot legs. It can back feed and show 120 on both sides imeven if one leg is really “dead.”
bowhntrmatt is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:49 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 1999-2012, TexasBowhunter.com